How to Clean Polyurethane From Your Hands

If you are ever in the un-awesome predicament of having your hands coated in polyurethane – go straight to the vegetable oil! I just put a quick coat of poly on a height measuring board we have been putting together for the kids and as soon as I opened the can I slopped it all over myself. After that kind of start there was no point being careful (I was working outside) and the end result was some super sticky hands! I tried dawn first, then rubbing alcohol, then nail polish remover (all with different kinds of soap in between tries at varying water temperatures). Finally I pulled out everyone’s secret weapon: google. It told me to try vegetable or canola oil. SO I DID. And it works! Just coat your hands and rub, rub, rub then wash with soap and water! Not only does it remove the gunk but it moisturizes pretty well too.

How to Clean Polyurethane From Your Hands

Leave a Reply

